21-That Much of a Fool

January 19, 2009

Hiding inside myself
Nowhere to run.
There’s no escaping
From what he’s just done.

Did I let him do it?
Am I that much of a fool–
To get raped on a Thursday
During lunchtime at school?

I laid there like a doormat-
I didn’t fight or scream.
Just did what he told me
Like it was a bad dream.

Guess I learned as a child
To be quiet and lie
Like a corpse without moving
And not question why….

Slip out of your body
(You can watch the whole scene
Like a bug on the ceiling
And not think what it means).

Then when it’s all over
You go on with your life
And try hard to forget
Things aren’t really all right.

Leave a Reply

