17-9 Going on 40

January 19, 2009

I came to God at nine years old
Going on forty with a heart grown cold.
Dead inside, a heart of stone,
Innocence lost–feeling alone.

Upon my knees I asked for His grace,
For strength to face what I couldn’t face.
But all I received was a two day reprieve
‘Cause my hard little heart just couldn’t believe.

I only lasted for a couple of days
Until the hope just went away
And I was still just nine years old
Going on forty with a heart grown cold.

Leave a Reply

