10-Mommy’s Tears

January 18, 2009

Mommy, why are you crying?
Why do you always look sad?
Did I do something to hurt you?
Did you find out I really was bad?

You tell me each day that I’m ugly,
That I’ll never look good like you do.
You tell me I’ll just be a failure
‘Cause that’s all that this family can do.

Mommy, are you scared that I’m better?
Is that why you hurt me each day?
Are you scared that I won’t be a loser,
And so you are making me pay?

They said you would kill them if you found out–
We’d lose everything that we had.
I’m too little to understand killing
But it scares me–it sounds really bad!

It makes me feel angry and dirty,
But there’s no where I can go to hide.
Oh Mommy, forgive me. I’m sorry.
I didn’t know I’m the reason you cry.

Leave a Reply

