2-Frozen In Time

January 14, 2009

“Write ‘from the child‘,” I heard my friend say,
“Cause children are loving and carefree and gay.
I was getting so angry (but what he said sounded good)
Still there was something he’d not yet understood….

Some children are wounded and locked up inside
Of a past they have buried and work hard to deny.
I sped home in turmoil, my guts starting to writhe
Trying to outrun the fears deep inside.

But the memories surfaced as I let the words come
Describing on paper the things that were done
And the feelings thawed that were frozen in time
As I began to accept “the child’s” story was mine.

(To begin at the first poem, click here)

Leave a Reply

